Whitehall Officials Select Citizen of the Year

'Jason Coll Day' will be proclaimed on Aug. 25.

Saturday, Aug. 25, will not only be for ; it will also be "Jason Coll Day."

Coll—a composer, a musical director and a —has been chosen by Whitehall's elected officials as the borough's 18th annual Citizen of the Year.

Coll will officially be crowned on Aug. 25 at  at around 10 a.m., as Mayor James F. Nowalk and the Whitehall Council will proclaim that day "Jason Coll Day" in front of finishers and spectators of the borough's annual .

Coll, a 1989 graduate of and a 1993 graduate of Carnegie Mellon University's School of Drama, is the founder of Frog Prince Theatricals. He served as the creative director and associate artistic director of the Pittsburgh Civic Light Opera from 1999 to 2008.

In 2005, he was named one of Pittsburgh's "40 Under 40" by Pittsburgh Magazine and the Pittsburgh Urban Magnet Project.

Like all Citizens of the Year, Coll resides in Whitehall. At times, he has volunteered his talents to assist the borough and has spoken up at council meetings concerning the possible development of Marcellus Shale gas in Whitehall.

"I'm a proud member of SHAADD," Coll said, "and I'm also happy to be recognized for my artistic contributions to the community, especially my original works for young audiences.

"I'm really honored that Whitehall has named me Citizen of the Year. I'm proud to call to call this my home."

Also being celebrated by borough officials on Community Day—at the at around 2:45 p.m.—are Community Service Awards being given to residents who have made significant contribution to the betterment of Whitehall.

There are three Community Service Award winners this year: Leo G. Daly, a long-time member of Whitehall's Zoning Hearing Board; Andrew Sakmar, a former borough councilman and a delegate to the South Hills Area Council of Governments' Cable TV Franchise and Rate Review boards; and John B. Schmotzer, the president of the Baldwin-Whitehall School Board.

A third type of recognition to be made by the mayor and the council on Aug. 25 are Good Neighbor Awards. The 2012 Good Neighbor Award winners will be announced on Tuesday, Aug. 21. Check back with the Baldwin-Whitehall Patch for updates.

Good Neighbor nominations must be made in writing by Aug. 20. for details.


Follow the Baldwin-Whitehall Patch on Facebook and Twitter.

Sign up for the daily Baldwin-Whitehall newsletter.

Paula Lim August 18, 2012 at 02:54 PM
Great choice!!!
Liz Coll Mastascusa August 19, 2012 at 07:51 PM
Yay, Jay!
Carmella August 20, 2012 at 09:00 PM
Congrations Jason and Family!
Robert Edward Healy, III August 27, 2012 at 05:27 PM
Pictures of Coll receiving his award are available here: http://patch.com/A-wW5L.
Robert Edward Healy, III September 06, 2012 at 05:25 PM
UPDATE: The Good Neighbor Award winners are Michael Abbiatici, Ed Dean, Emilio Del Bianco, James Hawkings and James Lydon.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »